What are all these .uc files in my temp or home directory?

KB Home   |   What are all these .uc files in my temp or home directory?

To prevent multiple instances of the PaperCut user client running at the same time we make use of a lock file. This lock file will be generated at client startup and removed at client shutdown. They will be created in your home or temporary directory and have the name of “.uc-“. See the screenshot below for examples.

If the client is shutdown abnormally (power outage, system crash, hardware failure etc) these files may be left in place. They are safe to delete in single user environments. When on multi-user machines such as Microsoft Terminal Servers or Citrix servers it is best to confirm that the lock file is not in use by another user before removing it.


Categories: Troubleshooting, User Client Tool


Keywords: The user client is already running

Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.

Article last modified on September 10, 2012, at 06:26 AM
Printable View   |   Article History   |   Edit Article