For the first 24 hours after signing up, all your printers are found and published automatically. After that, the edge node continues to scan and look for new printers, adding new printers to the Newly Discovered list in the Printers page.
If you are not running auto printer discovery in your network, it might be necessary at times to run a manual scan of the network to detect new printers and make them available to your end users. This gives you the ability to enter in the IP address for the new printer on your network. For further instructions, see Configure Manual Printer Discovery
Add a new printer
- On the Printers page, click the Newly Discovered tab.
- On the right of the row for the printer you want to add, click Review.
- Click Add as a new printer.
Update an existing printer
You can update an existing printer if the printer information looks familiar, or if:
- SNMP is disabled
- the IP address was changed recently
- the printer’s network card has been replaced
- the printer has had a factory reset.
Steps:
- On the Printers page, click the Newly Discovered tab.
- On the right of the row for the printer you want to add, click Review.
- Click Update an existing printer. The page displays information about the newly discovered printer, ready to compare with an existing printer.
- Click Select existing printer, then click the tile for the printer you want to update. The combined details are displayed in the Final version, which also indicates which information has changed.
- Click Review final version.
- Read the bullet points - they’re important!
- Click the I understand the above information checkbox, then click Confirm and update. The printer’s updated.
Ignore (remove) a printer
To ignore a printer and put it in the Ignored list, do one of the following.
- In the Printers page, for the printer you want to ignore, click the three-dot ‘⋮’ icon at the end of the printer row and select Ignore.
- In the Newly Discovered page, for the printer you want to ignore, click the Ignore button.
Restore a printer
To restore the printer, in the Ignored list click the three-dot ‘⋮’ icon at the end of the printer row and select Restore.
Merge a printer
-
In the Printers page, for the printer you want to merge, click the three-dot ‘⋮’ icon at the end of the printer row and select Merge.
-
Click Select existing printer and search for the second printer object to merge.
-
Click Review final version and read the warnings. This change cannot be undone.
-
Check I understand the above information and click Confirm and update.
Restricting access to printers
If you want to stop people from printing outside office hours, or stop certain people from printing to certain printers at certain times, check out Printer access control. It lets you set up any number of rules and printing policies.
Comments
Comments are not available in this preview environment. On papercut.com, this space shows the live Disqus comment thread for this page.