Differences in PaperCut MF/NG installations

KB Home   |   Differences in PaperCut MF/NG installations

During the installation phase of PaperCut NG, there are three options available to choose from:

  • Education
  • Small/Medium Enterprise (SME) or Corporate
  • Professional (Client Billing)

The installation type you choose will determine how the software is setup and configured for your environment. The following is a list of the differences and similarities between the three configuration types.

Registry

The registry settings for the PaperCut NG installation types are identical. There are no additional registry entries that are added to a PaperCut NG server when the software is installed.

PaperCut NG installation

The initial part of the installation of PaperCut NG is identical up to the point of selecting the configuration type that you wish to use to prepare your PaperCut Application Server with.

This section will attempt to explain the different steps you will encounter during installation along with the results of the default options.

Education

The education installation takes you through the following steps:

  1. Set the default costs of printing for color and grayscale.
  2. On the next screen you will set the initial credit for the users. The default option here has ticked the following option: Deny access when users run out of credit/quota. Note: if you set the initial credit for users to 0, and keep the “Deny access when users run out of credit/quota” option, users will first have to top up their accounts before they will be able to print.
  3. The final screen of the installation is to select the sync source and run a synchronization.

Small/Medium Enterprise (SME) or Corporate

The SME installation takes you through the following steps:

  1. Set the default costs of printing for color and grayscale.
  2. Select the Sync source and choose to synchronize.

Professional (Client Billing)

The professional installation takes you through the following steps:

  1. Set the default costs of printing for color and grayscale.
  2. Select the Sync source and choose to synchronize.
  3. This now displays the User Client Options Screen where you have two options:
    1. Minimal Impact (initial single user testing). If you select this option you can enter in a single username to apply these settings for testing purposes.
    2. Immediate Implementation (Enable for all users). This option will apply the settings to all users. If you choose this option a warning will appear stating: “Enabling the account popup will stop/pause all users printing until the client software is deployed.” Note: Option (b) requires that you have deployed the client software to all user computers to allow the staff to be able to select the account that they wish to charge to when they choose to print.
  4. This will now synchronize the users into PaperCut and configure the accounts based on the selection you chose on the “User Client Options” screen.

Once you log in to PaperCut NG there are a number of different selected options based on the installation type chosen.

The following tables list the differences between the options within PaperCut NG:

PaperCut NG User Details Screen

User Features Page Education Professional SME
Account Details
Balance $ amount in setup $0.00 $0.00
Restricted Y N N
Overdraft Y N N
Account Selection
Automatically Charge to Personal account Y N/A Y
Show the advanced account selection popup N/A Y N/A
Allow users to charge their personal account N/A Y N/A
Default shared account option N/A Y N/A
When shared account selected “Charge Shared Account” N/A Y N/A

PaperCut Accounts → Template Account

User Features Page Education Professional SME
Details and Balance
Balance $0.00 $0.00 $0.00
Restricted Unticked Unticked Unticked
Enable/Disable Enabled Enabled Enabled
Client Options
Invoicing User choice User choice User choice
Comments Optional Optional Optional
Advanced Options
Multiply Cost By Unticked Unticked Unticked
Apply to all sub accounts Unticked Unticked Unticked
Quota Scheduling
Period None None None
Schedule Amount $0.00 $0.00 $0.00
Only allow accumulation up to $0.00 $0.00 $0.00
Security Tab
Control Access to this Account:
Groups No groups selected All users No groups selected
Users No users selected No users selected No users selected

Options → User Features Page

There are several differences on this page between the three setup options. The highlighted options show where differences occur between the three installation types.

User Features Page Education Professional SME
Show Environmental Impact information Y Y Y
Allow users to see Rates / Costs Y Y Y
Allow users to view balance information Y Y Y
Allow users to transfer funds to other users Y Y Y
Only allow users in this group to transfer fund Y Y Y
Allow users to add comments to manual transfers Y Y Y
Enable use of TopUp / PrePaid Cards Y N N
Allow users to view held jobs (Hold/Release queues) via end-user interface Y Y Y
Only allow users in this group to view held jobs N N N
Release their own jobs Y Y Y
Enable the ‘Release All’ and ‘Cancel All’ buttons Y Y Y
Allow users to view/release held jobs via mobile print release Y Y Y
Allow users to view shared accounts balances Y Y Y
Allow users to change their card/ID number N N Y
Allow users to view their card/ID numbers N N Y
Allow users to change their card/ID PIN N N Y
Allow users to request refunds N N Y
Auto approve refund requests for users in this group N N Y
Add custom links to the user web navigation menu N N Y
Allow ‘remember me’ functionality for mobile release and mobile client login Y Y N

Backend Config Keys based on Organisation type:

Config Setup Education Professional SME
Top Up Cards No special setup Off Off
Release time No special setup 4-hour window 4-hour window
Account PIN Visible No special setup Yes No special setup
Client Starts minimised No special setup Yes No special setup
Enable Advanced Popup No Yes
Allow: Charge Printing to Account from list
Allow: Charge Printing to Account from PIN
Allow: Charge Printing to Personal Account
Don’t Allow: Can charge printing to other users
No
During Setup User Client Options Screen Not displayed If admin selects Immediate Implementation (All users), then all users receive the above settings immediately.
If admin selects Minimal Impact (Initial user testing), then they will need to enter an existing account as the test account for the above settings to be applied to.
Not displayed

Categories: Implementation


Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.

Article last modified on October 30, 2017, at 12:25 AM
Printable View   |   Article History   |   Edit Article