Ignoring/deleting/excluding printers

KB Home   |   Ignoring/deleting/excluding printers

Q How do I ignore/delete a printer from PaperCut?

By default, PaperCut is designed to automatically monitor all printers on the system/server. Deleting the printer via the admin web interface will not stop monitoring - the printer will just reappear next time a job arrives (as the system will detect is as missing and re-add it).

To completely ignore a printer, the Print Provider component needs to be instructed not to track and report activity. This procedure is explained in detail in the user guide here:

Note: History logs are still maintained allowing access to historical data. Always confirm your action before proceeding with the delete!

Q Why ignore/exclude a printer?

Common reasons for ignoring a printer include:

  • You need to test printing with PaperCut disabled for troubleshooting purposes.
  • The printer is a virtual printer such as a FAX or PDF converter.
  • You are not concerned with tracking usage on the printer.
  • The printer is only used by trusted people and it’s usage can be disregarded from reports.
  • The printer is used for a special purpose such as label or batch printing and tracking is not appropriate or causes problems.
  • Management has made a determination that print recording should not occur on a particular device (e.g. printing of sensitive material/documents).

keywords: excluding a printer, remove printer, ignore printer, stop monitoring, delete, bypass, subset, sub set, not monitoring, not tracking print jobs

Categories: Printers

Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.

Article last modified on December 07, 2017, at 12:07 AM
Printable View   |   Article History   |   Edit Article