You are here: Installation > Installation on Windows > Running in a Workgroup environment

Running in a Workgroup environment

A workgroup environment differs from a network domain model. In the domain model, users authenticate using a common username/password as defined in a central server. Users can typically access and use any PC on the network by using their username and password. In a workgroup, the computers are loosely coupled and user identity is validated locally rather than centrally. The computers are either set up to automatically log in as a general "user", or user accounts are set up on the computers as required.

Users can still authenticate with PaperCut NG/MF on Windows by entering their details into the User ClientThe User Client tool is an add-on that resides on a user's desktop. It allows users to view their current account balance via a popup window, provides users with the opportunity to confirm what they are about to print, allows users to select shared accounts via a popup, if administrators have granted access to this feature, and displays system messages, such as the "low credit" warning message or print policy popups. utility. For more information see Option 2: Authenticating via popup.

PaperCut NG/MF offers a number of options for running and authenticating users in a workgroup. The two common options are:


Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.