Showing or forgetting the most recently used Shared Accounts

KB Home   |   Showing or forgetting the most recently used Shared Accounts

Main.ShowingRecentlyUsedSharedAccounts History

Hide minor edits - Show changes to output

Changed line 29 from:
two most recently used accounts at the top of the account list. This is applied when selecting shared accounts for print/copy/scan/fax jobs.
to:
two most recently used accounts at the top of the account list. This was applied when selecting shared accounts for copy/scan/fax jobs. From version, 19.0 it is applicable when selecting shared accounts at the MFD for print jobs too.
April 08, 2019, at 06:43 AM by Priyanka - Adding information of how recently selected accounts are reflected when using CAMP.
April 08, 2019, at 06:27 AM by Priyanka - Adding information of how recently selected accounts are reflected when using CAMP.
Changed line 29 from:
two most recently used accounts at the top of the account list.
to:
two most recently used accounts at the top of the account list. This is applied when selecting shared accounts for print/copy/scan/fax jobs.
Changed line 10 from:
Attach:hidden_account.gif
to:
Attach:hidden_account2.gif
Added lines 13-14:
Attach:account_selection.gif
December 29, 2017, at 08:33 PM by Priyanka - Adding a screenshot
Added line 10:
Attach:hidden_account.gif
Changed lines 9-13 from:
*Create a dummy Shared Account, e.g. called '[=HiddenAccount=]'
*Set the security for the account so that '''no''' users or groups have access to that Shared Account, under the 'Security' tab for the Account
*Set the Account Selection for the user(s) under @@Users -> [select user] -> Account Selection@@, to 'Show the standard account selection popup'
*Set the 'Default Shared Account' to your dummy account created above - e.g. '[=HiddenAccount=]'
*Apply the changes and test
to:
#Create a dummy Shared Account, e.g. called '[=HiddenAccount=]'
#Set the security for the account so that '''no''' users or groups have access to that Shared Account, under the 'Security' tab for the Account
#Set the Account Selection for the user(s) under @@Users -> [select user] -> Account Selection@@, to 'Show the standard account selection popup'
#Set the 'Default Shared Account' to your dummy account created above - e.g. '[=HiddenAccount=]'
#Apply the changes and test
August 19, 2014, at 10:43 PM by TimG - Updated to include instructions on how to forget the last account in the client popup
Changed lines 1-2 from:
(:title Showing the most recently used Shared Accounts:)
to:
(:title Showing or forgetting the most recently used Shared Accounts:)

!!!PaperCut User Client Shared Account Selection

By default the Shared Account popup remembers the last used account. This can be useful in some environments, but in other environments users may forget to change the selection to the proper account, and land up mis-charging a large number of jobs to the last used account. To get around this you can create a placeholder shared account so that it will always show 'Select the Shared Account to charge...'.

To do this, you'll need to do the following steps:

*Create a dummy Shared Account, e.g. called '[=HiddenAccount=]'
*Set the security for the account so that '''no''' users or groups have access to that Shared Account, under the 'Security' tab for the Account
*Set the Account Selection for the user(s) under @@Users -> [select user] -> Account Selection@@, to 'Show the standard account selection popup'
*Set the 'Default Shared Account' to your dummy account created above - e.g. '[=HiddenAccount=]'
*Apply the changes and test

What is happening in the background is that each time it pops up the client window, it will try to set the drop down to the default Shared Account set for that user - since the user doesn't have access, this will fail, and it will then display the default 'Select the Shared Account to charge...' option instead.


!!!PaperCut MF Device/MFP Specific Information

Changed lines 15-18 from:
* You may also use the Config editor to set the key: "user.shared-accounts.recent-accounts-to-list-first".  

Note that this value should be no greater than the value for: "client.config.recent-accounts-to-remember".
to:
* You may also use the Config editor to set the key: "user.shared-accounts.recent-accounts-to-list-first". Note that this value should be no greater than the value for: "client.config.recent-accounts-to-remember".
August 19, 2014, at 10:14 PM by TimG - Line break... definitely minor!! :)
Added line 16:
Changed lines 1-2 from:
(:title Handy Hint: Showing the most recently used Shared Accounts:)
to:
(:title Showing the most recently used Shared Accounts:)
Added lines 1-21:
(:title Handy Hint: Showing the most recently used Shared Accounts:)

Some PaperCut sites have hundreds or even thousands of Shared Accounts - but it is a fact of life that
users will each use the same few accounts again and again.  We've recognized this fact for a long time
and this is why the Advanced Account Selection client has a handy list of recently used accounts.

Until recently, users selecting an account at the MFP device or using Web Print have not been so fortunate.
In release 13.4, we now keep track of recently used accounts for these users also and by default, put the
two most recently used accounts at the top of the account list.

You can configure the number of recently used accounts to show.  And if you want, you can turn off this feature by setting this number to zero. 

* If you are using PaperCut MF, you will find this option in the Admin interface under Options -> General in the Account Options section.

* You may also use the Config editor to set the key: "user.shared-accounts.recent-accounts-to-list-first". 
Note that this value should be no greater than the value for: "client.config.recent-accounts-to-remember".

----
''Categories:'' [[Category.TipsAndTricks|+]]
----
[-Keywords: Shared Accounts-]

Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.

Article last modified on April 08, 2019, at 07:08 AM
Printable View   |   Article History   |   Edit Article