Changing the job timeout in hold/release queues

KB Home   |   Changing the job timeout in hold/release queues

Main.ChangingJobTimeoutOnReleaseStation History

Hide minor edits - Show changes to output

July 16, 2018, at 05:39 AM by 139.130.165.134 -
Changed line 7 from:
This setting also applies to jobs in a secure print release environment or Find Me (Follow Me) printing setup using global virtual print queues.
to:
This setting also applies to jobs in a secure print release environment or Find Me printing setup using global virtual print queues.
July 08, 2015, at 08:07 PM by TimG - Added note about the new script functionality
Changed lines 9-13 from:
In versions prior to 8.0, the timeout period can be changed as follows:
to:
'''If you're running 15.1 or later''', you can now also set this on a per-job / per-group / per-printer (and more!) basis using [[https://www.papercut.com/products/ng/manual/ch-script.html|Print Scripts]]:
*Example recipe under Printers -> [select your printer] -> Scripting -> Import Recipe -> Adjust Hold/Release Queue timeout for selected group
*Demonstrates the new 'actions.job.setHoldReleaseTimeout' script action as documented in the [[https://www.papercut.com/products/ng/manual/ch-script-print-api.html|Print Script API Documentation]]

'''In versions prior to 8.0'''
, the timeout period can be changed as follows:
Changed line 22 from:
[-Keywords: abandon, abandoned, delete, disappear, expire, expiration, gone, remove, timeout, hold time, release time-]
to:
[-Keywords: abandon, abandoned, delete, disappear, expire, expiration, gone, remove, timeout, hold time, release time-]
Changed lines 3-4 from:
When jobs are left held in a hold/release queue (e.g. release station) for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default the timeout period prior to v11.4 was set to 30 minutes but based on a 2011 survey of our customer base we have increased the default timeout of jobs in hold/release queues. The default value differs between education and commercial/professional sites (2 hours for education, 4 hours for commercial/professional). The timeout is configurable but the default is a good compromise between user convenience and environmental savings. The new default only affects new installations.  The period can be changed via:
to:
When jobs are left held in a hold/release queue (e.g. release station) for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default the timeout period prior to v11.4 was set to 30 minutes, but based on a 2011 survey of our customer base we have increased the default timeout of jobs in hold/release queues. The default value differs between education and commercial/professional sites (2 hours for education, 4 hours for commercial/professional). The timeout is configurable but the default is a good compromise between user convenience and environmental savings. The new default only affects new installations.  The period can be changed via:
September 08, 2011, at 02:55 PM by RossM - edit to reflect 11.4 change to queue timeout.
Changed lines 3-4 from:
When jobs are left held in the a hold/release queue (e.g. release station) for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default this period is 30 minutes - quite aggressive, but we are about saving paper!  The period can be changed via:
to:
When jobs are left held in a hold/release queue (e.g. release station) for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default the timeout period prior to v11.4 was set to 30 minutes but based on a 2011 survey of our customer base we have increased the default timeout of jobs in hold/release queues. The default value differs between education and commercial/professional sites (2 hours for education, 4 hours for commercial/professional). The timeout is configurable but the default is a good compromise between user convenience and environmental savings. The new default only affects new installations.  The period can be changed via:
Changed lines 1-5 from:
(:title Changing the job timeout in release stations:)

When jobs are left held in the release station for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default this period is 30 minutes.  The period can be changed via:
@@Options -> General -> Hold/Release Queues -> Delete held jobs if not released after
@@.
to:
(:title Changing the job timeout in hold/release queues:)

When jobs are left held in the a hold/release queue (e.g. release station) for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default this period is 30 minutes - quite aggressive, but we are about saving paper!  The period can be changed via:

->
@@Options -> General -> Hold/Release Queues -> Delete held jobs if not released after@@.

This setting also applies to jobs in a secure print release environment or Find Me (Follow Me) printing setup using global virtual print queues
.
Changed lines 1-7 from:
(:title Changing the job timeout is release stations:)

When jobs are left held in the release station for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default this period is 30 minutes.  The period can be changed as follows:

'''Note: In PaperCut NG 7.5 and PaperCut ChargeBack 7.4 this configuration setting can now be found in the release station section of the Options tab.'''

# From the administration interface, navigate to @@Options@@ -> @@Config editor (advanced)@@
to:
(:title Changing the job timeout in release stations:)

When jobs are left held in the release station for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default this period is 30 minutes.  The period can be changed via:
@@Options -> General -> Hold/Release Queues -> Delete held jobs if not released after@@.

In versions prior to 8.0,
the timeout period can be changed as follows:
# From the administration interface, navigate to @@Options -> Config editor (advanced)@@
Changed line 13 from:
''Categories:'' [[!Administration]]
to:
''Categories:'' [[Category.Administration|+]]
Added lines 5-6:
'''Note: In PaperCut NG 7.5 and PaperCut ChargeBack 7.4 this configuration setting can now be found in the release station section of the Options tab.'''
Changed lines 1-2 from:
(:title Changing the job timeout for release stations:)
to:
(:title Changing the job timeout is release stations:)
Changed line 13 from:
[-Keywords: abandon, abandoned, delete, disappear, expire, expiration, gone, remove, timeout-]
to:
[-Keywords: abandon, abandoned, delete, disappear, expire, expiration, gone, remove, timeout, hold time, release time-]
July 18, 2007, at 01:50 AM by 218.214.136.161 -
Added line 4:
Changed line 13 from:
[-Keywords: abandon, -]
to:
[-Keywords: abandon, abandoned, delete, disappear, expire, expiration, gone, remove, timeout-]
July 18, 2007, at 01:47 AM by 218.214.136.161 -
Added lines 1-12:
(:title Changing the job timeout for release stations:)

When jobs are left held in the release station for a long time they are eventually deleted.  By default this period is 30 minutes.  The period can be changed as follows:
# From the administration interface, navigate to @@Options@@ -> @@Config editor (advanced)@@
# Enter @@release-station.job-expiry-mins@@ in the quick find box.
# The config option with this value should be displayed in the table below.  Change this value to the number of minutes that jobs are held in the release station before being deleted.
# Press @@Update@@

----
''Categories:'' [[!Administration]]
----
[-Keywords: abandon, -]

Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.

Article last modified on July 16, 2018, at 05:39 AM
Printable View   |   Article History   |   Edit Article