You are here: Configuration > Advanced user management > Bulk user operations

Bulk user operations

A bulk user operation refers to an operation that is applied to more than one user. This operation was referred to in previous PaperCut releases as "Group level functions". You can perform bulk operations on a user group or a comma separated list of users. Bulk user operations are best described by example.

Example 1: Bulk operation on a user group

John is a network administrator at a local high school. A number of students from each year level have been placed on the school newspaper committee. The head teacher has requested that John allocated an extra $10.00 of printing credit to these students. The students are all in a network group called "NewspaperCommittee". John performs this operation as follows:

  1. Click the Users tab.

    The User List page is displayed.

  2. In the Actions menu, click Bulk user actions.

    The Bulk User Operations page is displayed.

  3. In the User Selection area, in Perform operations on users, select NewspaperCommittee.

  4. In the Edit credit balance area, select the Adjust credit by option; then enter $10.00.

  5. In Transaction comment, enter extra allowance for newspaper committee role.

  6. Click OK.

Example 2: Bulk operation on an ad-hoc list of users

Now, John wants to add $10.00 credit to a list of users he has saved in an Excel spread sheet. John needs to perform this operation as follows:

  1. Click the Users tab.

    The User List page is displayed.

  2. In the Actions menu, click Bulk user actions.

    The Bulk User Operations page is displayed.

  3. In the User Selection area, change Perform operations on users to in the list.

  4. Cut and paste the list of names from the spread sheet. This would generate a comma separated list of usernames.

  5. Select the Adjust credit by check box; then enter $10.00.

  6. Click OK.

Additional information

Bulk user operations apply changes to all users matching the selected group and other criteria. Settings under the Groups section or shared accounts are not affected.

Caution:

Group level operations are one-way and cannot be undone. Always carefully consider the operation before proceeding. If you are unsure of the function or behavior, performing a backup prior to undertaking the operation is advised.

Other bulk user operations available under Bulk user actions include:


Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.