You are here: Installation > Installation on Windows > Running in a Workgroup environment

Running in a Workgroup environment

A workgroup environment differs from a network domain model. In the domain model, users authenticate using a common username/password as defined in a central server. Users can typically access and use any PC on the network by using their username and password. In a workgroup, the computers are loosely coupled and user identity is validated locally rather than centrally. The computers are either set up to automatically log in as a general "user", or user accounts are set up on the computers as required.

Users can still authenticate with PaperCut NG on Windows by entering their details into the User ClientThe User Client tool is an add-on that resides on a user's desktop. It allows users to view their current account balance via a popup window, provides users with the opportunity to confirm what they are about to print, allows users to select shared accounts via a popup, if administrators have granted access to this feature, and displays system messages, such as the "low credit" warning message or print policy popups. utility. For more information see Option 2: Authenticating via popup.

PaperCut NG offers a number of options for running and authenticating users in a workgroup. The two common options are:


Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.