You are here: Installation > Installation on Windows > Running in a Workgroup environment > Option 2: Authenticating via popup

Option 2: Authenticating via popup

  1. Nominate a system to host the printers and the PaperCut NG server software.

  2. On the nominated host system, ensure that the Guest account is disabled.

    1. Select Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Computer Management > Local Users and Groups > Users.

      The Local Users screen is displayed.

    2. Right-click the Guest user; then select Properties.

    3. On the General tab, select Account is disabled.

    4. Click OK.

  3. This should also be performed for any system running a Release StationPrint Release Stations place a print job on hold and allow users to release it when required. Often a Release Station is a dedicated PC terminal located next to the printers, however, Release Stations can take other forms such as a web browser based interface. Some common examples where Release Stations can be used include secure printing, approved printing, and authentication. In a secure printing environment jobs are only printed when the user arrives at the print area and confirms his or her identity. This ensures the user is there to collect the job and other users can't "accidentally" collect the document. In some organizations it may be appropriate to hold jobs until they are approved by selected individuals. A good example would be a teacher approving printing on an expensive color printer. Hold/Release queues can be used as a form of authentication in an unauthenticated environment. Users must authenticate prior to releasing their jobs allowing PaperCut NG to confirm their identity..

  4. On the nominated system, set up user accounts for all users.

  5. Install the PaperCut NG server software and complete the configuration wizard.

  6. Print from another workstation. The job should list in PaperCut NG under the user "guest".

  7. Click the Users tab.

    The User List page is displayed.

  8. In the Actions menu, click Bulk user actions.

    The Bulk User Operations page is displayed.

  9. In the Change settings area:

    1. Select the Change account selection setting check box.
    2. Select Show the standard account selection popupThe standard account selection popup is a mode for the account selection popup that provides the basic features required to charge to shared accounts. It is ideal for sites with a small number of accounts.
    3. Clear the Allow user to charge to their personal account check box
    4. Select the Allow user to perform printing as another user check box

  10. Install the client software on each workstation. See User Client.

  11. When the user prints to the shared printer, a popup now asks the user to enter a username and password.


Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.