You are here: Configuration > Advanced user management > Set new user creation rules

Set new user creation rules

It is inevitable that new users will be added to your network in the future. To streamline account setup, PaperCut NG offers the option of having new users automatically assigned initial settings such as starting credit, privilege level, and other settings based on their group membership. Users are automatically added to PaperCut NG when either:

When a new group is added, it does not provide any new user settings. Taking the time to configure initial settings rules means one less job for administrators to perform! The group based control offers maximum flexibility and ensures that it's possible to have a different set of initial settings rules for different types of users. This flexibility is particularly important in an academic environment where students of different year levels need different settings.

Example:

For example, an administrator might want to allocate new users belonging to the Senior Students group, a $10 starting credit and allow them restricted access, while all other students receive $5.00 starting credit.

Set up new user creation rules

  1. Click the Groups tab.

    The Group List page is displayed.

  2. Select a group.

    The Group Details page is displayed.

  3. In the New User Settings area, select the Use this group to define new user settings check box.

    The new user settings are displayed.

  4. Complete the following as required:

    • Initial Credit—Enter the amount of credit to apply to each new user in this group.
    • Initially Restricted—Select this check box to set an overdraft limit on the account.
    • Initial Overdraft—(displayed only if the Initially Restricted check box is selected) Enter the amount of overdraft to allow for each user in this group.
    • Initial Account Selection Settings—Select the account selection option.
    • Override printer/device settings—Select the printer/device settings that can be overridden for users in this group.
  5. Click OK.

Important:

Changes made to the New User Settings affect only users NOT yet listed in the system. (i.e. future users). Any users already listed in the system are not affected. Initial user settings also do not apply when users change groups. To modify settings or credit on existing users, see Bulk user operations.

Tip:

Initial settings can become confusing when a user belongs to more than one group. PaperCut NG uses the following logic to allocate initial settings:

Tip:

To control when users are automatically created, see On demand user creation.


Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.