You are here: Configuration > Advanced printer management > Printer FAQs

Printer FAQs

How do I view printing history?

You can quickly access printing history via a number of areas. The most appropriate area depends on the information required.

  • To view a user's printing history select the Job Log under the user's details page.

  • To view recent print jobs printed on a printer, select Job Log under the appropriate printer's details page.

  • To view all print jobs printed on the network with advanced search and filtering options, use the global Print Log on the Logs tab.

How do I add a new printer?

On Windows systems, new printers are added to the system automatically once the printer is added to a monitored server. On a Mac or Linux system, after PaperCut NG is enabled on the printer, it is displayed in the Admin web interface after the first print. New printers are assigned initial settings based on the configuration assigned to the [Template Printer].

How do I delete a printer?

Once the printer is removed from the operating system's print list, you can delete the printer from PaperCut NG via the delete printer action under the printer's detail page. This action removes the printer from the monitored list. Print history logs are still maintained allowing access to historical data. Always confirm your action before proceeding with the delete!

How do I disable a printer?

  1. Click the Printers tab.

    The Printer List page is displayed.

  2. Select a printer.

    The Printer Details - Summary page is displayed.

  3. In the Configuration area, in the Enable/Disable list, select one of the disable options.

How do I tell PaperCut NG to ignore (not monitor) a printer?

By default on Windows systems all printers are tracked by PaperCut NG. You can instruct the Print ProviderA Print Provider is a monitoring service installed on a secondary print server to allow PaperCut to control and track printers. This monitoring component intercepts the local printing and reports the use back to the primary Application Server. to ignore a printer by setting the IgnorePrinters= attribute in the print-provider.conf file. A restart might be required for this to take effect.

Note:

This setting only stops monitoring. The printer is still listed on the Printer List page until it is manually deleted using the Delete printer action.

For more information see Add and remove/delete/ignore printers.

What can I use the printer notes field for?

The Notes field under each printer is useful for tracking all manner of information. Typical uses include:

  • Tracking configuration changes

  • Recording maintenance and/or toner replacements

  • Documenting problems

  • Leaving notes/comments to assist other administrators.


Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.