You are here: Configuration > Shared accounts > Bulk shared account operations

Bulk shared account operations

A bulk shared accountA shared account is an account that is shared by multiple users. For example, in business, shared accounts can be used to track printing costs by business unit, project, or client. Organizations like legal firms, engineering firms, or accounting offices often have long lists of accounts, projects, clients, or matters. In a school or university, shared accounts can be used to track printing by departments, classes, or subjects. operation refers to an operation that is applied to more than one shared account. There are occasions where the same task needs to be performed on multiple accounts. With a large number of shared accounts, it can take too long to perform the task manually on each one; this is where bulk account operations are useful.

Bulk account actions are in the Actions list on the Accounts tab.

Note:

You cannot perform bulk account operations unless you have admin access to all shared accounts.

Some examples of where bulk account operations might come in useful include:

  • Resetting shared account balances at the start of a new billing period.

  • Introducing a new printing policy or account model that needs to be rolled out across all shared accounts.

  • Temporarily disabling shared accounts. For example, over the holiday period when there should be no shared account based printing.

  • Giving to a particular group access to all shared accounts.

Caution:

The bulk account operations are one-way and cannot be undone. Always carefully consider the operation before proceeding. If you are unsure of the function or behavior, performing a backup prior to undertaking the operation is advised.

You can perform the following tasks through bulk account operations:

  • Adjust of set the accounts' credit (perform a transaction)

  • Change the accounts' restriction status

  • Disable the accounts for a specified period of time

  • Change the invoicing option

  • Change the comments option

  • Change the cost multiplier

  • Change the security settings

  • Change quota scheduling settings


Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.