Why is the client software preventing exit?

KB Home   |   Why is the client software preventing exit?

Main.UserClientPreventsExit History

Hide minor edits - Show changes to output

April 09, 2019, at 06:22 AM by Paula Stupka - Updated for v19.0 to show that Account selection can be done directly at the MFD
Changed lines 9-11 from:
'''A.''' This message is displayed when user interaction via the client tool is required before the job will print. E.g. with the confirmation pop-up enabled, users must confirm the job details before printing. With shared account selection, users must choose an account to allocate the job to.   If the client software is not running, jobs will not print at all, and the user would receive no feedback about why. 

In these cases, the client prevents exit
. In other cases, the client will exit.
to:
'''A.''' This message is displayed when user interaction via the User Client tool is required before the job will print. E.g. confirm the job details or choose a shared account for the job.   Only in these cases, are users prevented from closing the client. In all other cases, users are able to close the client.

From PaperCut MF v19.0, with a compatible MFD (see compatibility requirements [[https://www
.papercut.com/support/resources/manuals/ng-mf/releasestation/topics/device-mf-secure-print-release-assign-accounts-requirements.html|here]]), running the User Client software is optional when you submit print jobs that require account selection, as you can complete that selection directly at the MFD. In this situation this error message can be safely ignored, or alternatively you can uninstall the User Client. For more information see [[https://www.papercut.com/support/resources/manuals/ng-mf/releasestation/topics/device-mf-secure-print-release-assign-accounts-intro.html| Assigning accounts to print jobs at the MFD]].
Changed lines 9-10 from:
'''A.''' This message is displayed when user interaction via the client tool is required before the job will print. E.g. with the confirmation pop-up enabled, users must confirm the job details before printing. With shared account selection, users must choose an account to allocate the job to. If the client software is not running, jobs will not print at all, and the user would receive no feedback about why.  Even when selecting shared accounts at the MFD, the client software will have the same behavior. 
to:
'''A.''' This message is displayed when user interaction via the client tool is required before the job will print. E.g. with the confirmation pop-up enabled, users must confirm the job details before printing. With shared account selection, users must choose an account to allocate the job to.   If the client software is not running, jobs will not print at all, and the user would receive no feedback about why. 
April 08, 2019, at 06:46 AM by Priyanka - Updating information about the exit behavior of the client when CAMP is enabled.
April 08, 2019, at 06:46 AM by Priyanka - Updating information about the exit behavior of the client when CAMP is enabled.
Changed lines 9-10 from:
'''A.''' This message is displayed when user interaction via the client tool is required before the job will print. E.g. with the confirmation pop-up enabled, users must confirm the job details before printing. With shared account selection, users must choose an account to allocate the job to. If the client software is not running, jobs will not print at all, and the user would receive no feedback about why.
to:
'''A.''' This message is displayed when user interaction via the client tool is required before the job will print. E.g. with the confirmation pop-up enabled, users must confirm the job details before printing. With shared account selection, users must choose an account to allocate the job to. If the client software is not running, jobs will not print at all, and the user would receive no feedback about why.  Even when selecting shared accounts at the MFD, the client software will have the same behavior. 
Added lines 1-30:
(:title Why is the client software preventing exit?:)

'''Q.''' On Windows when I try to exit the client I receive a message:

->@@The application cannot be closed, because it is required to perform printing on this network.@@

Why?

'''A.''' This message is displayed when user interaction via the client tool is required before the job will print. E.g. with the confirmation pop-up enabled, users must confirm the job details before printing. With shared account selection, users must choose an account to allocate the job to. If the client software is not running, jobs will not print at all, and the user would receive no feedback about why.

In these cases, the client prevents exit. In other cases, the client will exit.

----

'''Q.''' Why offer an exit button at all in the cases where the client is required for printing?

'''A.''' It annoys us when things in the system tray don't have an exit option. We felt that users would think the same way about our software if we didn't offer one. Rather, the option is there, and clicking it explains why it's been disabled.

If you have a suggestion about how we could do this better, please add a comment below.

----

'''Q.''' But users can just terminate the application from the Windows Task Manager anyway?

'''A.''' In managed Windows lab environments access to the task manager is generally disabled. If you can access it and you really want it gone, power to you.

----
''Categories:'' [[Category.UserClientTool|+]], [[Category.Administration|+]], [[Category.Windows|+]]
----
[-Keywords: quit, close, terminate, kill-]

Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.

Article last modified on April 09, 2019, at 06:22 AM
Printable View   |   Article History   |   Edit Article