Q I have recently upgraded my server. Do I also need to upgrade the client software on each workstation?
If you’ve deployed the client software using the suggested method - the zero-install strategy (e.g. running directly off the share) - then no update will be required. All workstations will pick up the new version on their next reboot/login.
If you’ve done a local install, then an upgrade is recommended as this will allow your users to benefit from any new features introduced on the client-side. Having said that, we do always maintain backwards compatibility with older clients, so users running old clients will see no change or loss in function. If we introduce a new feature in the client then you would need to upgrade to get access to the new feature.
version.txt file (a text file containing the version and build number) installed into the client directory can assist in tracking the client version.
At the time of writing PaperCut version 11 servers still support back to version 6 clients.
* Just a little caveat - one day we may need to break compatibility but if we do we’ll give plenty of warning in the release notes and will restrict such changes to major releases only.
Categories: Upgrading, User Client Tool
keywords: client tool, upgrading, msi