What is Silent Monitoring Mode and how do I enable it?

KB Home   |   What is Silent Monitoring Mode and how do I enable it?

Main.SilentMonitoringMode History

Hide minor edits - Show changes to output

Changed lines 10-11 from:
* In organizations during the first phase of deployment.  That is, before quotes are implement, this system is "tested" for a period in a non-obtrusive fashion.
to:
* In organizations during the first phase of deployment.  That is, before quotas are implemented, this system is "tested" for a period in a non-obtrusive fashion.
Changed line 9 from:
* In business where the goal is to track and monitor usage (as appose to restrict).
to:
* In business where the goal is to track and monitor usage (as opposed to restrict).
Changed lines 6-7 from:
* The system never denies access to printing (e.g. no print quote limits are defined)
to:
* The system never denies access to printing (e.g. user can still print when the balance drops below zero and no filter or restrictions are applied to stop print jobs from printing)
Changed lines 16-17 from:
-->''2)'' Don't deploy the client software.  PaperCut is implemented using 100% server-side logic.  The client software is not require for simple print job monitoring.
to:
-->'''2)''' Don't deploy the client software.  PaperCut is implemented using 100% server-side logic.  The client software is not require for simple print job monitoring.

To move away from ''Silent Monitoring Mode'' - say as phase two of your deployment project - set users, or a group of users, to ''Restricted'' privilege and assign quotas or require the user to add credit first (user pays)
.
Changed lines 1-2 from:
(title: What is Silent Monitoring Mode and how do I enable it?:)
to:
(:title What is Silent Monitoring Mode and how do I enable it?:)
Changed line 9 from:
* In business where the goal is to track and monitor usage.
to:
* In business where the goal is to track and monitor usage (as appose to restrict).
Changed lines 14-18 from:
-->'''1)'''
to:
-->'''1)''' Set all users to ''Unrestricted'' mode.  This can be done by selecting the '''Unrestricted''' option during the configuration, or any time there after by using the '''Bulk user action...''' option any time and applying ''Unrestricted'' privilege to all users.

-->''2)'' Don't deploy the client software.  PaperCut is implemented using 100% server-side logic.  The client software is not require for simple print job monitoring.

[-keywords: silent monitoring, limited deployment, rollout -]
Added lines 1-14:
(title: What is Silent Monitoring Mode and how do I enable it?:)

''Silent Monitoring Mode'' is not an individual setting in PaperCut.  It's better described as an implementation strategy.  The aim is to implement PaperCut in a mode where:
* All print jobs are logged
* Users are unaware of the monitoring
* The system never denies access to printing (e.g. no print quote limits are defined)

''Silent Monitoring Mode'' is usually used in the following contexts:
* In business where the goal is to track and monitor usage.
* In organizations during the first phase of deployment.  That is, before quotes are implement, this system is "tested" for a period in a non-obtrusive fashion.

To enable ''Silent Monitoring Mode'':

-->'''1)'''

Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.

Article last modified on May 18, 2010, at 12:02 AM
Printable View   |   Article History   |   Edit Article