Hiding the Balance Window of the User Client Tool

KB Home   |   Hiding the Balance Window of the User Client Tool

Main.HidingTheClientToolBalanceWindow History

Hide minor edits - Show changes to output

March 26, 2019, at 10:14 PM by timg - Updated with note about hiding the balance window
Changed lines 28-32 from:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above). ''Note: on some platforms (for technical reasons) the balance window will still be present but it will not contain the balance text. As of version  14.2 (Build 27858), the Mac client is now able to be hidden, as the Mac User Client icon now resides in the menu bar as a "menulet" and no longer lives in the Dock.''
to:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above).

'''Note:''' make sure that you do '''not''' set disabletasktrayicon=Y in the client's config.properties file, for this to work. The PaperCut client will show 'something' when it's running - so that there is a visual cue of some kind that the client is running. If you disable the tray icon ''and'' disable the balance window as above, then you'll find that the balance window appears minimized, but shows dashes instead of the actual balance. The most 'invisible' option is to ''allow'' the tray icon, and then ''completely'' hide the balance window using the above.

''Note: on some platforms (for technical reasons) the balance window will still be present but it will not contain the balance text. As of version  14.2 (Build 27858), the Mac client is now able to be hidden, as the Mac User Client icon now resides in the menu bar as a "menulet" and no longer lives in the Dock.''
October 08, 2014, at 11:42 PM by 203.222.91.204 -
Changed lines 28-29 from:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above). ''Note: on some platforms (for technical reasons) the balance window will still be present but it will not contain the balance text. As of version  14.2 (Build 27858), the Mac client is now able to be hidden''
to:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above). ''Note: on some platforms (for technical reasons) the balance window will still be present but it will not contain the balance text. As of version  14.2 (Build 27858), the Mac client is now able to be hidden, as the Mac User Client icon now resides in the menu bar as a "menulet" and no longer lives in the Dock.''
October 08, 2014, at 11:42 PM by 203.222.91.204 -
Changed lines 28-29 from:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above). ''Note: on some platforms (for technical reasons) the balance window will still be present but it will not contain the balance text.''
to:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above). ''Note: on some platforms (for technical reasons) the balance window will still be present but it will not contain the balance text. As of version  14.2 (Build 27858), the Mac client is now able to be hidden'' 
Changed lines 28-29 from:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above).
to:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above). ''Note: on some platforms (for technical reasons) the balance window will still be present but it will not contain the balance text.''
Changed line 33 from:
[-Keywords: disable balance display, don't show balance, remove balance window, balance window not showing, balance dialog-]
to:
[-Keywords: disable balance display, don't show balance, remove balance window, balance window not showing, balance dialog-]
August 19, 2013, at 02:18 AM by geoff - Remove caveat for Mac OS 10.3
Deleted lines 29-32:
!!Note for Mac users

In order to support older Mac OS X versions (i.e. 10.3) is is not possible for PaperCut to completely hide the balance window.  Once support for 10.3 is dropped, we will provide a way to hide the balance window on Macs.

Changed lines 11-12 from:
To configure a client tool to start minimized, use the @@minimized@@ option.  See the user manual section '''User Client Options''' ([[https://www.papercut.com/products/ng/manual/apdx-tools-user-client.html | PaperCut NG]] / [[https://www.papercut.com/products/chargeback/manual/apdx-tools-user-client.html | PaperCut ChargeBack]]) for more details.
to:
To configure a client tool to start minimized, use the @@minimized@@ option.  See the user manual section '''User Client Options''' ([[https://www.papercut.com/products/ng/manual/apdx-tools-user-client.html | PaperCut NG]]) for more details.
Added lines 30-33:
!!Note for Mac users

In order to support older Mac OS X versions (i.e. 10.3) is is not possible for PaperCut to completely hide the balance window.  Once support for 10.3 is dropped, we will provide a way to hide the balance window on Macs.

Added lines 1-33:
(:title Hiding the Balance Window of the User Client Tool:)

The PaperCut user client tool will, by default, pop up a dialog with the user's balance when it starts.

The exception to this case is when the user cannot charge to their personal account.  For example, if the user's @@Account Selection@@ setting has been set to @@Show the standard account selection popup@@, and the option @@Allow user to charge to their personal account@@ has been disabled.  In this case the user's personal balance has no relevance, so the user client tool does not display the balance window.

!!Hiding the balance window on startup

The user client tool can be configured to "start minimized".  That is, the balance window will not be displayed when the client tool starts, but the user can still bring it up by clicking on the icon in the system tray/dock.

To configure a client tool to start minimized, use the @@minimized@@ option.  See the user manual section '''User Client Options''' ([[https://www.papercut.com/products/ng/manual/apdx-tools-user-client.html | PaperCut NG]] / [[https://www.papercut.com/products/chargeback/manual/apdx-tools-user-client.html | PaperCut ChargeBack]]) for more details.

Some examples of how to use the option include:
* If workstations run the client tool from a network share, set the @@minimized@@ option to @@Y@@ in the config file on the share to affect all clients.
* If client tools are started via a login script, pass the @@--minimized@@ command line option to affect all clients.
* To affect a single user client when installed locally, enable the @@minimized=Y@@ option in the local config file.


!!Hiding the balance window permanently

To ensure that the balance window will never be displayed for any user, perform the following:
# Log into the PaperCut administration interface.
# Navigate to @@Options -> Config editor (advanced)@@.
# Search for the key @@client.config.show-balance@@.
# Change the @@Value@@ to @@N@@.
# Press @@Update@@.

Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the @@minimized@@ option described above).

----
''Categories:'' [[Category.UserClientTool|+]]
----
[-Keywords: disable balance display, don't show balance, remove balance window, balance window not showing, balance dialog-]

Comments

Share your findings and experience with other PaperCut users. Feel free to add comments and suggestions about this Knowledge Base article. Please don't use this for support requests.

Article last modified on March 26, 2019, at 10:14 PM
Printable View   |   Article History   |   Edit Article