PaperCut MF 18.2 introduced the ability for users to Change Print Job Settings at the MFD. If you are upgrading from 18.1.4 or earlier, and you have Print Scripting configured on any print queues, then users wonít get this functionality by default.
Print Scripting is very powerful, so powerful that we cannot assume what you are achieving through your script. Because of this, we also cannot assume that it will be OK for users to change their print settings, as they might circumvent your script.
So, PaperCut MF gives you the power to decide whether or not you want to give users this functionality. This guide covers what you need to consider before switching it on. PaperCut MF also gives you the power to decide which settings you allow users to change:
- Color to grayscale
- 1-sided to 2-sided
Firstly, check the release notes to see if your MFD models support this functionality. If not, then this document is not relevant and no action is required.
Forcing grayscale or forcing 2-sided
If your print script forces grayscale or forces 2-sided conversion of print jobs, then you are OK. Users will not be able to circumvent this policy as they will not be able to change back to color or change back to 1-sided.
None. You can switch on the ability to change print job settings.
Limiting print job size
If your script limits the print job size either by copies or pages, then allowing users to change the number of copies at the MFD will allow them to circumvent this policy.
Either donít switch on the ability to change copies, or reconsider this print policy.
If your script applies a discount on print jobs, then these discounts will be lost if the user changes print job settings. PaperCut MF falls back to the original charge model (cost model) to calculate the cost of a modified job.
Either donít switch on the ability to Change Print Job Settings, or move your discounts to the User, Group, or Account level, which can be configured through the Admin web interface.
Editing the account
Your script might be overriding the account that is being charged for a number of reasons. If the user has access to multiple Shared Accounts, then allowing them to change their account will allow them to circumvent your policy.
Consider whether or not your policy should allow users to change their account. If not, then do not switch on the ability to change a Shared Account. You might also want to hide the account name and balance.
Viewing account information
If you enable all of the Change Print Job Settings, then users will also be able to see the account and account balance the print job will be charged to. If you have configured PaperCut MF to allow users to see others’ print jobs, consider whether or not these details are private and should be hidden.
If you do not want users to see the account, then hide the account name.
Quick how-to guide to switch on these features
Refer to the documentation for more information:
|Enable the ability to change the number of copies by setting to |
|Enable the ability to change the duplex mode by setting to |
|Enable the ability to change the color mode by setting to |
|Enable showing the selected Shared Account by setting to |
|Enable showing the balance of the selected Shared Account by setting to |
|Enable the ability to change the Shared Account by setting to |
|Enable showing the print job cost by setting to |
Y. This is configured per device.
Categories: Change Print Job Settings, Advanced Scripting (Print Scripting)
Keywords: zono, change print job settings